FantasyCon Mini Interview with Carol March, Author.

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q. Are you an Author, Reader, Artist or Blogger?
A. The love of reading and history has over the years given me the inspiration to write. At times, when distraction proves too great or my duties outside of the creative realm demand my attention, I reluctantly remove myself from the worlds I create.
I am by all standards a traditional fantasy author and have 6 indie books on various sale sites. It is the epic vein of writing that intrigues me, as I hope it does my readers.
Q. What is the earliest fantasy book you remembered reading?
A. I began reading at an early age and since children’s books sit happily in the genre of fantasy I fell in love with all the characters and the worlds that Enid Blyton created. I learnt that my imagination was a place, where I could pretend to travel alongside the characters as the story carried along.
My absolute favourite was The Magic Faraway Tree. It was the first of a series and to this day, I still read and adore epic fantasy series.
Q. Have you written any stories? What are they about?
A. The story that winds its way through the series I am writing is set on the world Tarkeenia. It is an epic tale, which is thick with love and hatred, betrayal and sacrifice, greed and desire. This world is layered with characters and wonders, story threads and impossible imaginaries.
I thought once it was impossible for me to write a short story. I was approached a couple of years ago to write for a small Australian Magazine and contribute fantasy stories that had a certain word count. A challenge I am now happy I accepted. This led me to creating a book of short fantasy stories, ‘A Dark Compendium.’ This is a collection of tales both magical and sometimes a little dark. They will tease and delight and certainly show that the impossible can certainly become possible.
Co-writing online with a like mind author is a great way to develop a story that is full of depth and full of imaginings. It is not always an easy process for although you both think alike and write from the same genre, there is always the question of writing style. Every author has one and when you combine two writing styles together it becomes a very interesting read. With the help of a like mind writer, an epic author not unlike myself, we created the series, The Un-named Chronicles.
Q. If you could have any fantasy creature for your own, what would it be and what would you do with it.
A. I am aware many asked this question would reply with wanting a dragon or a griffin. Personally some of my fantasy creatures would not be at all suitable to have beside me and for a short while I was confounded at how to answer this question.
I think I would like a creature I have created to be a friend. The fire sprite Coal is a mischievous fellow, standing a few inches tall and perfect in every way. I am a curious person by nature and so is he. Together we could have such fun. He can twink in and out, this means Coal can disappear and then re-appear in another place entirely. Can you imagine the fun?

