FantasyCon Mini-Interview with Lesley Donaldson-Reid, Author, and Reader

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q – Are you an artist, Author, Reader, or Blogger?

A – I’m the author of Growing a Rainbow: The Premature Journey of a Two Pound Hero (non-fiction memoir), co-author of From Blog to Book, and of my debut fiction The Queen’s Viper. And, of course, I read all sorts of books!

Q – What makes fantasy special to you?

A – As a writer, I love the bendable rules of fantastical worlds. As a reader, the magic inherent in fantasy stories feels visceral yet unobtainable in a way that Sci-Fi does not (to me). Don’t get me wrong, I like Sci-Fi too, but for different reasons, partly *because* it feels like we can achieve the concepts and technology. Fantasy is the most ethereal of genres. Protagonists often have to earn their skills, or sacrifice some part of themselves to use those powers. Yet we, as readers, still wish we could wield the same magic, no matter the cost.

Q – If you were trapped in another world with no way to get out, where would you want to be, and what kind of creature would you want to be your best buddy?

A – If you’d asked me this when I was a kid, I would have said Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory with an Oompa Loompa. These days, I’m far more practical: Neverland with Peter Pan, because – mermaids and flying!

Q – Have you written any stories? If so, please tell us about them.

Stories!! I have a few shorts and flash fiction readable on my web site. One of these, Line of Sacrifice, I started on a whim. A city has a heavy tithe to pay for its protection: unborn children. It’s more speculative fiction than fantasy. http://writerlesleydonaldson.com/words/

I also write ‪#‎microfiction‬ on Twitter from time to time. I don’t have any fantasy shorts and I think that’s because my fantastical works tend to be longer with description and imagery.

 

#author, #blogger, #fantasy, #interview, #lesley-donaldson-reid, #microfiction, #reader, #sci-fi, #science-fiction, #the-queens-viper