FantasyCon Mini-Interview with Jonathan Fesmire, Author

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q – Are you an Author, Blogger, Artist, or Reader?

A – I’m all four! I identify myself most as a writer. I currently have two adult fantasy novels and a young adult fantasy novel published, but in the last five years I’ve gotten heavily into steampunk, both in my art and writing. My upcoming novel is “Bodacious Creed: a Steampunk Zombie Western.”

My blog is called “The Mostly Steampunk Blog” where I do just that: write mostly about steampunk with some of my other interests thrown in. I’ve interviewed makers and cosplayers like Ave Rose, James Neathery, and Steamy Leia, and will continue to interview more people in the steampunk community.

I also have an MFA in Animation and Visual Effects from Academy of Art University, so I do 3D art on the side.

Q – What is your earliest fantasy story memory, book or movie?

A – I honestly don’t remember. I’ve been into fantasy and speculative fiction since forever. Probably the original Star Trek, or maybe A Wrinkle in Time. I was seven when Star Wars came out, which must have cemented my love for science fiction.

In the 90s I got into Cyberpunk, and in the 2000s, steampunk.

Q – If you could shift into any creature you wanted, what would you choose, and why?

A – I will take it by “creature” that you mean any alien as well. I would shift into a Time Lord with a Tardis. Nothing would be more amazing than traveling all of time and space with my son.

Q – Have you written any stories? If so, please share them with us.

A – I’ve written lots of stories! In the 1990s quite a few made it to paying zines, and I even sold one to Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Fantasy Magazine. I had an anthology, “Seed of Vision” published for years, but recently retired it. However, subscribers to my newsletter get what I think are the eight best stories from that anthology for free when they sign up for my newsletter via my website.

I’m also working on the first short story in the steampunk world of “Bodacious Creed” right now and should have it done by convention time. It’s also going to be a freebie to my newsletter subscribers, and I think it’s quite good.

Visit my website at http://jonfesmire.com/.

Steampunk Saturday

#fantasycon, #author, #bodacious-creed, #cyberpunk, #fantasycon-mini-interview, #jonathan-fesmire, #sci-fi, #science-fiction, #seed-of-vision, #steampunk