FantasyCon Mini-Interview with Rommy Dirks

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q – Are you a Reader, Author, Artist, or Blogger?

A – I am a blogger, currently at work on a collection of short stories.

Q – What fantasy stories and Authors have influenced you most?

A – I think my earliest influence was C.S. Lewis. I read and re-read all of the Chronicles of Narnia so many times that at one point, mine was the only name on the sign out cards (back in ye olde days before computers). Since then, I’ve been moved by Robin McKinnley, J.K. Rowling, Raymond Feist, Zilpha Keatly Snyder, Diana Wynne Jones, Jacqueline Carey, Steven King, and Neil Gaiman.

Q – If you could be the heroine of any story, which would it be?

A – Ooh, that’s a tricky one. I immediately thought of Phaedre no Delunay from Kushiel’s Dart, but that’s a bit intense for me! I’d still really love to visit Terre d’ Ange though. Perhaps Aerin in Robin McKinnley’s The Hero and the Crown.

Q – Have you written any stories? If so, please share them with us.

A – Oh goodness yes. I think I’ve been making up stories to amuse myself my whole life but it’s only within the last 10 years that I’ve been brave enough to write them down, and only the last 5 that I started letting others read them. I have several running stories on my blog.

One is dark humorous series on a pair of vampire siblings. Another follows a fairy in Pennsylvania around the time of the American Revolution. My longest running one is about a Japanese fox spirit (a kitsune called Yuuki) set in modern day Pennsylvania. I’ll definitely be including short stories about the last two characters in my short story collection. Then there are an assortment of one offs I’ve played around with as well.

You can find my blog at http://kestrilsrhythmsandgroove.blogspot.com/and follow me on FB athttps://www.facebook.com/KestrilsRhythmsandGroove

#fantasycon, #blogger, #fantasycon-mini-interview, #rommy-dirks