FantasyCon Mini-Interview with Kim Cady

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q – Are you a Blogger, Reader, Author, or Artist?

A – I have published my first novella in a two book series, ‘The Abbottsford Cats – The Sphere of Remel’, I also did the cover illustration. I am a writer, photographer and digital artist.

Q – What is your earlier memory of a fantasy story, or movie having an impact on you?

A – When I was very young, about 6 or 7, I didn’t like the usual cartoons at all. There was a special TV series of animation on stories about nature that I loved. The one I remember the best was “The Swallows of Capistrano”. This lovely animated story was about the famous cliff swallows of San Juan, Capistrano. They take flight every year in mass near the Day of San Juan (October 23), and return from their winter spot 6,000 miles south in Goya, Corrientes, Argentina and around March 19th they return, landing at the mission in San Juan, California , Crowds from all over the world greet them as the bells of the Mission ring and a fiesta is celebrated! I’ll never forget that beautiful story.

Q – If you could transform into any creature, what would you choose?

A – Definately, a pampered housecat!!

Q – Have you written any stories?

A – I started writing when I was in elementary school. My first short story was called “The Christmas Robin” about a robin in Florida with a broken wing that is found by a boy. He brings the robin home to his family and they care for it. It heals and flies on Christmas day!
I won first place in The Collage, my college literary magazine for ‘Sandiron’ a story about a sunflower who protests a gardener’s attempt to remove him – pleading that ‘he was not a weed, but, a beautiful flower like any other’.In my 20s and 30s, I was a songwriter and sang my songs in both folk and rock n’ roll bands to a very favorable response in Buffalo, NY, my hometown and Nashville, TN where I now live.
I returned to novel writing recently and completed “The Abbottsford Cats – The Sphere of Remel” the first of two books in the series. It is a story based in Beaufleuve – a city full of magic – a place of feral cats and Spirit Cats; cruelty and kindness; earthly barriers and magical travels. In ‘The Sphere of Remel’, a clowder of extraordinary cats living on Abbottsford Road work together to help a gypsy who saved their lives fight an unforgiving curse. As they do, a cruel man enters their realm and faces his demons, learning lessons he never bargained for; and a little girl heals her wounded heart through friendship, forgiveness, and a very special kitten.
I am working on the second novella at this time.
To learn more about the book, illustrations and the upcoming volume, please like me at https://www.facebook.com/kycady?ref=hl. Thank you!

#fantasycon, #artist, #author, #fantasycon-mini-interview, #illustration, #kim-cady, #photographer, #the-abbottsford-cats, #the-sphere-of-remel