FantasyCon Mini-Interview with Scarlett Van Dijk

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

Q – Are you an Author, Blogger, Reader, or Artist?

A – I am a young adult, fantasy author. I also have a blog on the writing craft and enjoy reading.

Q – What is your earliest memory of fantasy or sci-fi having an impact on you?

A – When I was young I actually hated reading. I hated what we were forced to read at school. When I was 13 however, I was walking through my school library when I noticed a book cover with a really interesting design. This was Tamara Pierce’s Song of the Lioness series, and the first fantasy novels that I had ever decided to read. These are the books that both made me interested in reading for pleasure and inspired me to start writing my own fantasy stories.

Q – What inspires you?

A – I find music to be a large inspiration and if I am ever having difficulty coming up with ideas I will just sit (in the bath) listening to music. This works every time for me.
My first book was actually based on a daydream that I had when listening to Kelly Clarkson’s Breakaway.

Q – Have you written any stories? If so, please tell us about them.

A – I currently have two YA fantasy novels published, both from my Sky Stone series. The first is titled Sky Stone, and the sequel is titled Guardian Core. The stories follow a young woman called Skyla who is stripped from her home and sent to a land where magic is part of daily life and torn by war. She finds herself Gifted with special abilities and a destiny handed to her by a god. It’s a story of war, love, and growth.
I am currently working on the third and final book in this series, and a stand alone novel titled Nexus.

Website: http://www.scarlettvandijk.com/
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/scarlettskystone

 

#fantasycon, #author, #blogger, #fantasy, #fantasy-story, #fantasycon-mini-interview, #guardian-core, #reader, #scarlett-van-dijk, #sky-stone, #ya