Young Adult Sunday Drabble competition

Virtual Fantasy Con banner

 

Amy Riddle- DeClerck

Untitled

A vast and sprawling city lay before him. Towering skyscrapers so tall they were ringed in clouds made shadows on the streets.
“Where is this place?” he wondered. He had come here from far away, walking over deserts and through forests. This was the f
irst civilized place he’d found. His watch was ticking louder than normal, and he was stunned to see the second hand running backward. He tapped it. Broken, of course. He walked down the wide center street, looking for someone to tell him where he was. At last, he saw a woman in a bright blue dress in the corner. She smiled when she saw him and gave a curtsy.
“Excuse me, but what do you call this city?” he asked.
“Good morn, Your Majesty. Why, this is your city, of course. We did not rename it while you were away!”
“My city? I don’t know this place.”
“But, Your Majesty, this is the city of your birth. This is Oz.”
Oz, he said to himself, but it made no sense. He was from Kansas, and a weary traveller in a strange land. Surely, this was all some jest.
“To the palace for you, then?” the woman asked. She waved at the tallest building, a crystal jade monstosity with dark windows and a foreboding air.
“Yes,” he said, intrigued despite his apprehension. “To the palace.”

 

Kasey Mart

Untitled

She opened her eyes as she felt the first drops of rain on her face she sat up slowly looking around. She wasn’t sure where she was or who she was but one thing she did know she was hungry. She stood up and started walking hoping to find help. She stopped as she seen a buck a few feet in front of her. Her fangs came out and she attacked. The buck struggled under her. She snapped his neck and fed. After she drained the buck she walked on. She stopped seeing cars drive by on the road. A car stopped in front of her. A woman got out of the car and headed towards her.
“Are you alright?”
“Fine”
“You sure your covered in blood”
“I tripped over a dead deer”
“What’s your name?”
The girl thought for a moment. “Kassie” she.
“Well let’s get you into the car and we can take you to the hospital”
“No hospital”
“Are you sure”
“I’m sure”
“Well get in the car and out of the rain”
Kassie looked back at the woods then got into the car

 

Terra James

Untitled

I awoke to the sound of Dibs scratching. I’ve had enough of his shenanigans this week. I know he can’t possibly help how his panic attacks effect him, but his little fairy wings twitching a hundred times a minute scratching on the door’s wood sounded as if a giant tiger was scratching with his sharpened claws.
“Dibs, what’s the matter, now?” I ask him exasperated.
“I’m sorry princess. Can you ever forgive me?”
“Yes, you know I can, but what seems to be the problem?”
“If you find a dash at this party, you’ll have to marry according to tradition. Where will that leave me?”
I throw myself a cross my vast king size bed and sigh. The truth is I don’t have an answer, but marriage isn’t even in my plans for my future. I will have to run away from Aldagad. The question is will anyone miss me? Where will my marriage leave me? I know where, stuck with a jerk, I don’t love. This just saddens me. I pull back the covers and slide into bed. I cover up and force my eyes shut. Praying sleep will take me to dream land, where these problems don’t exist. As I drift off to sleep I murmur to Dibs. “I don’t know dear friend. Will you come with me?”

 

Terra James

Untitled

The princess is snoring before I can ask her where I’ll be accompanying her to. I will do anything to stay with her. I’ll follow her anyway. It’s against the law of the kingdom to fall in love with a human if you’re a fairy, but my heart only knows what it feels. These things can’t be decided. They’re just mere emotions for God’s sake. Would princess Jasya marry me? Is it possible? I’d make her the happiest woman in the land. My fairy wings would look radiant on her beautiful body. This is the last thought I have before I drift off to sleep to meet her in our dream land, because even in sleep we won’t be separated. I hate you so king Delvar .

 

Kimberly-Reader Vanderbloom

Untitled

I tried to grab on to something as I fell. It was so dark. I tried to scream but nothing but air came out. I prepared myself for the landing, if I was going to die I hope it would be quick. All of a sudden I started to fall slower almost floating. My feet touch the ground first. It was soft like walking on new plush carpet. I looked at my surroundings. The sky was purple with teal clouds. There were vivid pink trees. How could I have landed in Wonderland? Wonderland doesn’t exist or does it?

#fantasycon, #drabble, #fantasy, #fantasy-story, #short-story, #ya